Jim Shooter fried my brain

How did you become a VALIANT collector?

Moderators: Daniel Jackson, greg

Zardoz
Working on the first full appearance of me
Jim Shooter fried my brain

Post by Zardoz »

I was a fan of Doctor Solar Man of the Atom as a kid. Yeah, I'm an old fart. So when I saw he had been revived I dove in. It was simply brilliant. That and the first issues of Harbinger, Eternal Warrior, and XO made me believe that comics had finally achieved the level of fine literature. Don't laugh, Jim Shooter fried my brain. Little did I know I would be sucked in to the whole Valiant Universe like the world was into Solar's black hole.

I loved all the titles and started collecting them and then selling them off for ridiculously high prices. I sold Magnus 0 for around $100. I sold XO #3 for $80 and scores of others from my collection that I later replaced at blow-out sales and whatnot for next to nothing after the speculation craze crashed. Every once in a while I reread whole runs and try to fill in the holes that are still left. Presently I'm on an XO kick and have almost everything replaced.

I became disillusioned and frustrated with Valiant however shortly after Shooter was robbed of his creations and pitched out of his own company. The quality of the stories and art suffered so terribly that I discontinued my obsession with Valiant titles until sometime after the crash. I started reading them again and picking up every back issue I could lay my hands on in the cut-out bins around town.

I have the honor of having my letter published in Solar Man of the Atom #7. Yeah, that was me prattling on about my love of the Solar character. I think this was the last letter to be published in the series. I was a bit irritated that they got my address wrong. I can't recall but I think they may have gotten my last name wrong too. I'll have to dig it out and check.