Valiant fan since: 2012
Favorite character: Divinity
Favorite title: Dr. Mirage
Favorite writer: Van Meter
Favorite artist: Braithwaite & Baron
Turok pointed the way

Post by Tony_H »

Howdy, all:

I worked in a comics shop from the mid 80s through the early 90s. By the time Valiant began publishing, I was burned out on the medium and paid no attention to the catalogues of its first two incarnations. By 08, I began regularly reading monthlies again, having gotten reeled back in through Dark Horse. I really enjoyed Jim Shooter's truncated DH title Turok: Son of Stone, so I picked up some Dinosaur Hunter back issues. Enter Valiant.

The post-2012 VEI books have been great. On the advice of an old friend, I started reading them within a few months of the Archer & Armstrong relaunch. However, other than what I've gleaned from isolated Turoks, I have zero knowledge of the 90s Valiant stories. Hearing about this board on Only The Valiant podcast 160, I knew I'd have to sign on.

Any suggestions about good places to begin trekking through the old universe are welcome!

grendeljd
innerSPACE does whatever I tell them
Valiant fan since: 1991
Favorite character: Aric
Favorite title: Harbinger
Location: On the 7.5th floor of LesterCorp, headed through the back door to John Malkovich's brain.
Re: Turok pointed the way

Post by grendeljd »

Welcome aboard!

I worked at a couple of comic shops back in the early through mid-nineties, loved those jobs. :thumb:

I think any old school fans here will say you can't go wrong with pre-Unity issues of any VH1 titles that came before that historic cross-over event. I'd say go start looking into the original titles of whatever is currently your favourite of the new books though. You simply cannot go wrong with tracking down Barry Windsor-Smiths run on the original Archer & Armstrong though. Might be a good starting point for you...
I like to draw stuff... http://grendeljd.deviantart.com/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;